Liffey Ferry No.11

Printer-friendly version

The Liffey Ferry

Dublin’s historic Liffey Ferry No. 11 was once a common site on the Liffey, ferrying passengers across the river until it was decommissioned in 1984 when the new East Link Bridge opened.   The Ferry played a vital link for Docklands Communities transporting people to work, school and to loved ones and family members living of the other side of the river. The Ferry service dates back to 1665 when it was given a Royal Charter by King Charles II and went on  to last more than 300 years.
The Ferry, now refurbished and reinstated, will be a familiar sight once again ferrying the people of Dublin between three points – the 3Arena to Sir John Rogerson’s Quay to MV Cill Airne at North Wall Quay and back.  Services begin on Monday 11th February 2019 and the Ferry will have capacity for 18 passengers at a time, it will be €2 for each 3 minute journey point to point.

The Ferry will be operated by the Irish Nautical Trust and will also be used as a teaching/ training platform to educate and train young men and women from the local area in a wide range of maritime skills.  All proceeds from passengers' fares will be used to help fund the return of the new maritime training programme.  It will be a great opportunity for these trainees whose parents and grandparents would have travelled on this type of ferry boat in the past to gain practical marine experience and a formal qualification accredited by the Irish Sailing Association.  

€2 per Trip
1. From the MV Cill Airne pontoon
2. From the Sir John Rogersons Quay pontoon (between Blood Stoney Road & Britain Quay
3. From the 3Arena (The Point) pontoon.

Share this page: